kdenlive 0.7.3 on Ubuntu Jaunty

Hi to all.

I would like to install v.0.7.3 on Ubuntu Jaunty (version 0.7.2.1 crash on saving project -- it's a known bug), but installation from source requires to install half kde (dolphin and konqueror included :( ).

So, someone can build deb packages for Jaunty?

it's done, wait now for universe repo integration, it was published at 14:00 on launchpad : https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/kdenlive

thanks to Anthony Mercatante for this quick packaging effort.

edit : kdenlive 0.7.3 is now available in the universe Jaunty repoitory. But MLT version stays at 0.3.4 ...

yes I have open a bug on launchpad about mlt

Solved, Tony Mercatante published mlt and mlt++ 0.3.8  packages a few minutes ago. That's cool !

Hi everyone

I'm new to Linux.  I would like to download a video editing suite.  All I know is that the system has KDE, and I think Ubuntu.  That is the sum total of my knowledge.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

hi jalan,

If I understand well you have access to a computer under GNU/Linux operating system, probably Ubuntu, and you want to install Kdenlive. This video editing program is under heavy development, and a brand new version has been released 2 days ago (this is the recommended version as it fixes many bugs and adds many cool new features). But this version is only included at the moment in the development version of Ubuntu now on beta stage : version 9.04 aka Jaunty Jackalope. (in this thread we are talking about this version)

So first be sure that you are playing with Ubuntu and second, find the version (9.04, 8.10, 8.04, older ?) Then post these two answers and we will see what is the best for you to do.

well it crashed on my computer...then

i have compiled with my hand... and it doesn't crash.